Live Here. Play Here. Thrive Here.

Address

624 East Center
Pocatello, ID 83201

Come On In!

Mon – Fri: 8:00AM – 5:00PM
Closed Saturday & Sunday

Phone

208-236-7000
Directory
O

a
ITD

Renew or replace your ID and more online here.

SHERIFF'S OFFICE

Visit the Sheriff’s Office web page.

NEWSROOM

View press releases from the Sheriff’s Office here.

DMV

For vehicle registration and license plates, click here.

Driver’s License Divison

Make An Appointment*

*Required

q

Attention

This office does not register vehicles.
Click here for Motor Vehicle Department.

Contact

208-236-7258
*You must call to make an appointment.

Address

5800 S. 5th Avenue
Pocatello, ID 83204
*Located at the Sheriff’s Office
Map it

}

Hours

Monday – Thursday
7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
*We stop testing at 4:00 p.m.
Closed Fridays and all federal holidays.
a

Menu

There is a lot of information available on this page. We encourage you to use this menu to help find what you’re looking for.

I need to renew my old Idaho license

I moved from out-of-state and need an Idaho license

I’m a new driver and need a license

I immigrated to the U.S. and need a driver’s license

I still have questions

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Call us at 208-236-7258.

 

Star Card

Beginning May 3, 2023, everyone will need either a Star Card (Real ID), U.S. Passport, military ID, or some other form of federally accepted ID to board a flight or access a federal building.

If you want a Star Card, don’t wait until the last minute!

The requirements are different than getting a license or ID without a Star. Click here to find out what you need to get your Star Card.

Driver License Record Search

Search for and purchase driver’s license records. These records do not include vehicle accident information.

Change My Address

Update your address to ensure you recieve notification when your license is expiring.

License Renewal

When can I renew my license?

You may renew your Idaho driver’s license in person up to 25 months before the expiration date.

A Class D license renewal is valid for either four years or eight years. If you are between the ages of 21 and 62, you may choose the eight-year renewal.

License renewal fees

4-Year License

$35.00

8-Year License

$60.00

CDL License

$40.00

18-year-old License

$30.00

Duplicate License

$20.00

Motorcycle Permit

$20.00

What do I need to bring with me?

For Star Card or Real ID requirements, click here.

Proof of Idaho Residency — You must reside inside Idaho’s borders to be issued an Idaho driver’s license or ID card. Proof of residency can be shown with documents such as lease or rental agreements, utility bills, school enrollment records, etc. Your home address (where you live) cannot be your workplace, vacation residence, a part-time residence, P.O. Box, mail drop, or general delivery (that have been mailed to the applicant.) Please check with our office to determine the acceptability of your documents.

Proof of Age and Identity – Driver’s license examiners are required by law to verify your identity and age before issuing you a driver’s license or ID card. If you have a valid, state-issued driver’s license or a state-issued ID card to surrender that meets the conditions of a primary document stated below, you do not need to provide any additional identity documents.

Note: If you do not have an acceptable driver’s license or ID card to surrender, you will be required to present a certified original birth certificate and an acceptable photo identity document (see primary and secondary document lists below).

If the documents described above cannot be obtained, the examiner will require a combination of documents from the primary and secondary document lists that provide proof of your legal name, date of birth, and identity (including a picture.)

Primary documents verify your age and identity, and must contain your full legal name and date of birth. These documents must be verifiable as authentic (the examiner must be able to contact the issuing agency to determine authenticity). The following are examples of primary documents:

    1. Out of state driver’s license or ID card (with a photo) not expired for five years or more.
    2. Idaho driver’s license or ID card not expired for five years or more.
    3. Original naturalization/citizenship document.
    4. Certified original birth certificate or certified abstract.
    5. Valid Immigration and Naturalization card from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
    6. U.S. military photo identification card.
    7. U.S. passport or passport card
    8. Valid Foreign passport with a valid U.S. VISA.
    9. Idaho concealed weapons permit not expired for one year or more.
    10. Veteran’s Universal Access Card with photo.
    11. Native American ID card with photo.

Secondary documents will assist in confirming your identity, and must contain your name and enough information to establish proof of all or part of what is contained on the primary document. The following are examples of secondary documents:

    1. Out-of-state issued driver’s license or ID card (with photo) expired for five years or more.
    2. U.S. military discharge paper (form # DD214).
    3. Certified marriage certificate (meeting Idaho standards) with seal and document number showing that it was recorded.
    4. Certified divorce document from a court or state vital statistics office.
    5. Guardianship or custody documents, notarized or court certified.
    6. Certified court name-change document.
    7. Junior or senior high school (not college or university) photo activity card.
    8. Junior or senior high school, college, or military yearbook/annual.
    9. Idaho Automobile dealer/salesman photo ID card.
    10. Idaho Department of Corrections photo ID card.
    11. Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections photo ID card.

Either the primary or secondary document must contain a photo of you.

Lawful Presence — Individuals who are not lawfully present (legally living in the U.S. in accordance with immigration laws) in the United States are not eligible for an Idaho driver’s license or identification card. Proof of lawful presence may be required if you have not previously provided proof of U.S. citizenship. Acceptable lawful presence documents include:

  • Certified original U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Certification of Birth Abroad
  • Original Certificate of Naturalization/Citizenship
  • Permanent Resident card or Resident Alien card
  • Employment Authorization card
  • Valid Foreign passport with valid U.S. VISA and I-94 (Arrival/Departure record)

Social Security Card—Bring your social security number or the original card issued by the Social Security Administration. Your social security number will be verified. It will not be printed on your Idaho driver’s license or ID card.

If you do not have a Social Security Number, you may still apply for a driver’s license or ID card if you provide a letter from the Social Security Administration stating that you do not have a Social Security Number. You will be required to provide proof of lawful presence in the United States.

Physical Certification—If your ability to operate a motor vehicle is affected by any physical or mental condition which brings about momentary or prolonged lapses of consciousness or control (examples: epilepsy or seizures, crippling arthritis, paralysis, Parkinson’s, heart trouble, insulin-dependent diabetes, Alzheimer’s, strokes, multiple sclerosis) you will be denied a license/permit until you provide a written certification from a physician that you can safely operate a motor vehicle.

Liability Signer—If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent (listed on birth certificate) or legal guardian with you to sign consent for you to be licensed. The identity of the liability signer will be verified.

School Enrollment or Completion—If you are under 18 years old, you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program.

Driver Training Completion—If you are under 17 years old, you must provide proof that you have completed an approved driver training program and met the requirements of the Supervised Instruction Permit under Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License Program.

One License Law – When applying for an Idaho Class D driver’s license, you must surrender any driver’s license or ID card issued to you from another state, U. S. Territory, Puerto Rico, or the District of Columbia. You do not need to surrender a driver’s license issued in a foreign country. However, once you are issued an Idaho driver’s license, you are not allowed to use or show your foreign license for the purpose of operating a motor vehicle. If you are applying for an Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), you must surrender any license(s) issued to you by any jurisdiction(s).

What if my license is expired?

If your driver’s license has been expired for 25 months or more, you will be required to take the written knowledge test and the skills test.

If your CDL is expired for 25 months or more and you wish to retain CDL privileges, you will need to take the written knowledge test for class D, all written tests pertinent to the CDL, and a skills test in the class of vehicle that matches the class of CDL you are applying for.

Do I need to take a test to renew my license?

Vision Screening – Your vision will be tested and you must meet a minimum standard of 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or without corrective lenses. If you wear glasses or contacts during the screening, a lens restriction will be placed on your driver’s license. If the lens restriction is placed on your driver’s license, you must always wear your glasses or contacts when operating a vehicle or you could be cited and lose your driving privileges for a period of time.

Written Knowledge Test—If your Idaho driver’s license has been expired for more than 25 months, you will be tested on your knowledge of Idaho traffic laws, highway signs by shape and symbol, traffic signals, pavement marking, and equipment required on motor vehicles.

Skills Test – A skills test is required for any applicant:

  • who has never been licensed before,
  • who has completed driver’s training and the supervised instruction period,
  • whose license has been expired for 25 months or more,
  • who presents or surrenders a driver’s license issued by a foreign country (except Germany and Korea), or
  • whose vision does not meet minimum standards.

A skills test may also be required for any applicant:

  • having any mental or physical impairment that might affect the safe operation of a motor vehicle,
  • when an examiner has concerns about the applicant’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, regardless of prior license, experience, or age.

Fees:

Written Knowledge Test$5.00
Skills Test ($6.50 paid at County, $28.50 to Skills Test Examiner)$35.00
Do I need a Star Card?

The Star Card is optional, but will soon be a requirement to fly or enter a federal building or military base in the United States. These are Idaho-issued credentials that comply with federal REAL ID security standards.

Click Here to build a checklist of documents you need to obtain your Star Card.

Learn more: Star Card Brochure

Click Here for frequently asked questions regarding the Star Card.


Beginning May 3, 2023, a Star Card or other federally-approved credentials will be required for federal security checks such as at TSA airport security, military bases, or federal courthouses. If you choose not to get a Star Card, the following approved documents are currently accepted instead:

    • U.S. passport or passport card
    • DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
    • U.S. military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DoD civilians)
    • Permanent resident card
    • Border crossing card
    • DHS-designated enhanced driver’s license
    • Airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
    • Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
    • HSPD-12 PIV card
    • Foreign government-issued passport
    • Canadian provincial driver’s license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
    • Transportation worker identification credential
    • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
    • U.S. Merchant Mariner Credential

New Idaho Residents

When moving to Idaho you will need to apply for an Idaho driver’s license within 90 days of residing in Idaho, whether your out-of-state license has expired or not.

If you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), you are required to be licensed in Idaho within 30 days of residing in Idaho.

Students attending a college or university in Idaho and members of the U.S. Military on active duty and their dependents who hold a valid driver’s license from another state and who claim residency in that state, are not required to obtain an Idaho driver’s license.

What do I need to do to get an Idaho driver's license?

For information regarding Idaho driver licenses, review a copy of the Idaho Driver’s Handbook (you can request one by calling us at 208-236-7258)

What tests will I need to take to get an Idaho driver's license?

Vision Screening – Your vision will be tested and you must meet a minimum standard of 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or without corrective lenses. If you wear glasses or contacts during the screening, a lens restriction will be placed on your driver’s license. If the lens restriction is placed on your driver’s license, you must always wear your glasses or contacts when operating a vehicle or you could be cited and lose your driving privileges for a period of time.

Written Knowledge Test—If you are a new applicant for an Idaho driver’s license, you will be tested on your knowledge of Idaho traffic laws, highway signs by shape and symbol, traffic signals, pavement marking, and equipment required on motor vehicles.

Skills Test – A skills test is required for any applicant:

  • who has never been licensed before,
  • who has completed driver’s training and the supervised instruction period,
  • whose license has been expired for 25 months or more,
  • who presents or surrenders a driver’s license issued by a foreign country (except Germany and Korea), or
  • whose vision does not meet minimum standards.

A skills test may also be required for any applicant:

  • having any mental or physical impairment that might affect the safe operation of a motor vehicle,
  • when an examiner has concerns about the applicant’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, regardless of prior license, experience, or age.

Prepare for your Skills Test

List of Examiners for Class D & Motorcycle Skills Test

List of Examiners for CDL Skills Test

What should I bring with me?

For Star Card or Real ID requirements, click here.

Proof of Idaho Residency — You must reside inside Idaho’s borders to be issued an Idaho driver’s license or ID card. Proof of residency can be shown with documents such as lease or rental agreements, utility bills, school enrollment records, etc. Your home address (where you live) cannot be your workplace, vacation residence, a part-time residence, P.O. Box, mail drop, or general delivery (that have been mailed to the applicant.) Please check with our office to determine the acceptability of your documents.

Proof of Age and Identity – Driver’s license examiners are required by law to verify your identity and age before issuing you a driver’s license or ID card. If you have a valid, state-issued driver’s license or a state-issued ID card to surrender that meets the conditions of a primary document stated below, you do not need to provide any additional identity documents.

The following out-of-state driver’s licenses cannot be accepted as proof of identity since the department is unable to determine the extent to which an applicant’s identity or lawful presence was examined through issuance of their current credential. Only Real IDs (Star Cards) and enhanced licenses from these states will be acceptable proof of identity.

    1. California
    2. Connecticut
    3. District of Columbia
    4. Maryland
    5. New Mexico
    6. New York
    7. New Jersey
    8. Oregon
    9. Vermont
    10. Washington

Additionally, the following “driver privilege” cards cannot be accepted as proof of identity since these are issued with fewer requirements than standard driver’s licenses. However, these states’ standard Class D licenses and Real IDs are acceptable for proof of identity.

State – Card Language
Colorado – “Not valid for federal identification, voting or public benefit purposes”
Delaware – “Driving privilege only – Not valid for identification”
Hawaii – “Limited purpose driver license – Not acceptable for official federal purposes”
Illinois – “Not valid for identification” Called a TVDL
Nevada – “Not valid for identification – Driver authorization card”
Utah- “Driving privilege – Not valid identification for Utah government entity”
Virginia- “Driving privilege card – Not valid identification for federal voting or public benefit purposes”

Applicants who surrender any of the above credentials will still be exempt from passing a skills exam. These credentials may still serve as valid photo identification if the name on the credential is supported by the additional identity documentation.’

Note: If you do not have an acceptable driver’s license or ID card to surrender, you will be required to present a certified original birth certificate and an acceptable photo identity document (see primary and secondary document lists below).

If the documents described above cannot be obtained, the examiner will require a combination of documents from the primary and secondary document lists that provide proof of your legal name, date of birth, and identity (including a picture.)

Primary documents verify your age and identity, and must contain your full legal name and date of birth. These documents must be verifiable as authentic (the examiner must be able to contact the issuing agency to determine authenticity). The following are examples of primary documents:

  1. Out of state driver’s license or ID card (with a photo) not expired for five years or more.
  2. Idaho driver’s license or ID card not expired for five years or more.
  3. Original naturalization/citizenship document.
  4. Certified original birth certificate or certified abstract.
  5. Valid Immigration and Naturalization card from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
  6. U.S. military photo identification card.
  7. U.S. passport or passport card
  8. Valid Foreign passport with a valid U.S. VISA.
  9. Idaho concealed weapons permit not expired for one year or more.
  10. Veteran’s Universal Access Card with photo.
  11. Native American ID card with photo.

Secondary documents will assist in confirming your identity, and must contain your name and enough information to establish proof of all or part of what is contained on the primary document. The following are examples of secondary documents:

  1. Out-of-state issued driver’s license or ID card (with photo) expired for five years or more.
  2. U.S. military discharge paper (form # DD214).
  3. Certified marriage certificate (meeting Idaho standards) with seal and document number showing that it was recorded.
  4. Certified divorce document from a court or state vital statistics office.
  5. Guardianship or custody documents, notarized or court certified.
  6. Certified court name-change document.
  7. Junior or senior high school (not college or university) photo activity card.
  8. Junior or senior high school, college, or military yearbook/annual.
  9. Idaho Automobile dealer/salesman photo ID card.
  10. Idaho Department of Corrections photo ID card.
  11. Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections photo ID card.

Either the primary or secondary document must contain a photo of you.

Lawful Presence — Individuals who are not lawfully present in the United States are not eligible for an Idaho driver’s license or identification card. Proof of lawful presence may be required if you have not previously provided proof of U.S. citizenship. Acceptable lawful presence documents include:

  • Certified original U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Certification of Birth Abroad
  • Original Certificate of Naturalization/Citizenship
  • Permanent Resident card or Resident Alien card
  • Employment Authorization card
  • Valid Foreign passport with valid U.S. VISA and I-94 (Arrival/Departure record)

Social Security Card—Bring your social security number or the original card issued by the Social Security Administration. Your social security number will be verified. It will not be printed on your Idaho driver’s license or ID card.
If you do not have a Social Security Number, you may still apply for a driver’s license or ID card if you provide a letter from the Social Security Administration stating that you do not have a Social Security Number. You will be required to provide proof of lawful presence in the United States.

Physical Certification—If your ability to operate a motor vehicle is affected by any physical or mental condition which brings about momentary or prolonged lapses of consciousness or control (examples: epilepsy or seizures, crippling arthritis, paralysis, Parkinson’s, heart trouble, insulin-dependent diabetes, Alzheimer’s, strokes, multiple sclerosis) you will be denied a license/permit until you provide a written certification from a physician that you can safely operate a motor vehicle.

Liability Signer—If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent (listed on birth certificate) or legal guardian with you to sign consent for you to be licensed. The identity of the liability signer will be verified.

School Enrollment or Completion—If you are under 18 years old, you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program.

Driver Training Completion—If you are under 17 years old, you must provide proof that you have completed an approved driver training program and met the requirements of the Supervised Instruction Permit under Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License Program.

One License Law – When applying for an Idaho Class D driver’s license, you must surrender any driver’s license or ID card issued to you from another state, U. S. Territory, Puerto Rico, or the District of Columbia. You do not need to surrender a driver’s license issued in a foreign country. However, once you are issued an Idaho driver’s license, you are not allowed to use or show your foreign license for the purpose of operating a motor vehicle. If you are applying for an Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), you must surrender any license(s) issued to you by any jurisdiction(s).

New and Young Drivers

Anyone under 17-years-old who has not been issued an Idaho driver’s license must successfully complete an approved driver’s training program and comply with the requirements of the Graduated Driver Licensing Program.

Do I need to complete Drivers Training?

Anyone under 17-years-old must complete a driver-training program and the Graduated Driver’s License Program.

An approved Idaho driver training program consists of a required 30 hours (1,800 minutes) of classroom instruction, six hours (360 minutes) of in-car observation in a driver-training car, and six hours (360 minutes) of behind-the-wheel driving with a driver training instructor. The minimum training period for students attending driver education classes through a public school is 30 days. Commercial (private) schools are not restricted to a minimum training period.

Most Idaho school districts offer driver training programs in cooperation with the Department of Education. The public school courses are open to all Idaho residents between the ages of 14 1/2 and 21, even if they are not public school students. Commercial (private) driver training courses are available to anyone 14 1/2 years of age or older.

Bannock County Approved Driver’s Training Courses:

Armstrong Driving School

R&R Driving School

What are the requirements of the Graduated Driver's License Program?

If you are 17 and under and have not been issued an Idaho driver’s license, you must complete the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) Program. GDL is designed to ease beginning drivers into the traffic environment under controlled conditions to help reduce the number of teen driver traffic convictions and collisions.

Under the GDL Program, you will be required to complete a minimum six-month violation-free supervised instruction period, during which you must:

1. Pass an approved driver education class consisting of:

  • Thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction,
  • Six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and
  • Six (6) hours in-car observation.

The minimum training period for students attending driver education classes through a public school is 30 days. Students taking driver education classes from a commercial school are not restricted to a minimum training period.

Students must be at least 14 1⁄2 years of age and are only allowed to drive with an instructor during the class. The instructor retains the students Driver Training Permit, and will give it to the applicant or parent/legal guardian after the course has been passed. The Driver Training Permit then becomes the Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP).

2. Complete a supervised driving period, which must include:

  • No less than six calendar months of supervised driving, and
  • Fifty (50) hours of supervised driving (10 of the 50 hours must be at night).

*New Idaho residents who have a driver’s license from another state are not required to undergo a supervised driving period or provide acceptable proof of having passed a driver education course.

3. Pass the written knowledge and road skills tests.

Once completed:

Before a license can be issued to the applicant, a parent or legal guardian must sign and date a statement on the GDL Requirements Verification:

  • Certifying that fifty (50) hours of driving were completed (10 of which were at night), and

  • Granting permission to issue the license.

This prevents teens from receiving a license before they are eligible and/or without their parents knowledge and consent. The driver’s license will expire five days after the licensee’s 18th birthday.

If I’m 17-years-old, do I have to take Drivers Training?

You can come in with the same documents needed for  drivers training and take a written test. Then you have two options.
A. Do a road test and get your license issued.
B. Purchase a permit which allows someone 18 or older, who has an Idaho driver’s license to teach you how to drive. This permit is good for six months, anytime within that six months you do a road test and come back to our office where we will issue an Idaho driver’s license.

What do I need to enroll in Drivers Training?

You will need the following items for your driver’s training permit.

  1. Original birth certificate.
  2. Verification of compliance (this is a letter you get from your school office)
  3. Photo ID (yearbook, school activity card/student ID, or passport)
  4. Social security number
  5. Parent listed on the birth certificate must come in to obtain the permit with you, with their identification or driver’s license.
What are fees can I expect to pay?
Instruction Permit$20.00
Driver Training Instruction Permit (SIP)$26.50
Written Knowledge Test$5.00
Skills Test ($6.50 paid at County, $28.50 to Skills Test Examiner)$35.00

 

Are there restrictions for young drivers with their licenses?

Drivers under the age of 16 are restricted to driving during daylight hours only unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and sitting beside the driver. No other passengers are allowed in the front seat.

Licensees under the age of 17 are requiredduring the first six (6) months from the date the license was issuedto limit number of passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 17 to not more than one passenger, unless the passengers are related to the driver by blood, adoption, or marriage.

What happens if I get a traffic ticket with my learner's permit?

As part of the Graduated Driver’s License Program, all drivers under the age of 17 are subject to the following moving traffic violation penalties:

  • First violation – Warning letter
  • Second violation – Minimum 30-day suspension
  • Third violation – Minimum 60-day suspension

These penalties are in addition to the cancellation of a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) during the supervised instruction period, or any other suspensions that may be ordered by a court or the department because of a traffic violation. For further information regarding suspensions and Idaho’s Point Violation System, refer to the Violation Points.

NOTE: If your SIP or driver’s license gets suspended, you must pay all applicable reinstatement fees before your driving privileges can be reinstated. If your SIP has been canceled, you will have to purchase a new SIP if you are under 17 years old.

 

ALCOHOL/DRUG VIOLATIONS

It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other intoxicating substance, or any combination of alcohol, drugs and/or any other intoxicating substances to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle.

In addition, drivers under the age of 21 who have a blood alcohol content of .02 or higher while operating a motor vehicle will be subject to suspension of driving privileges for up to one year and can fined up to $1,000.00. Penalties increase for subsequent violations and/or excessive blood alcohol concentrations.

Violation of Idaho’s alcohol/age laws when you are NOT driving will also cause your SIP or driver’s license to be canceled or suspended. Once the court-ordered suspension period has passed and all applicable fines and reinstatement fees have been paid, the driver’s license will be reinstated. If a SIP was canceled, and you are still under the age of 17, you can purchase a new SIP after you have met all reinstatement requirements.

What if I took driver's training in another state?

If you are under 17 years old you must have a driver training instruction permit to attend any commercial or public school driver-training program. The permits expire at age 18 for people 14 1/2 to 17 1/2 years of age; permits expire 180 days from issuance for people 17 1/2 years of age or older. The fee is not refundable. The documents required to get a driver-training permit are the same as those required for a driver’s license and are listed in Chapter One of the Idaho Driver’s Handbook. The certified original copy of the birth certificate you provide must show mother/father for liability signer purposes.

When you have successfully completed a driver-training program, you will be eligible to begin the supervised instruction period for drivers under the age of 17 as required by Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program.

When should I renew my vertical license ?

If you are:

  • 15-17 years of age, your driver’s license will have a vertical format with a green border around the picture and show “Under 18 until month/day/year.” It will expire five days after your 18th birthday. You should not renew your driver’s license before your 18th birthday unless you will be temporarily living out of state at the time of your 18th birthday.
  • 18-20 years of age, your driver’s license will have a vertical format with a red border around the picture and show “Under 21 until month/day/year.” It will expire five days after your 21st birthday. You should not renew your driver’s license before your 21st birthday unless you will be temporarily living out of state at the time of your 21st birthday.
Do I need to register with the Selective Service Registration?

Federal law requires all males who are 18 to 25 years of age to register with the Selective Services System. Eligible males will have the opportunity to register when they apply for a driver’s license or ID card.

Additionally, the Selective Service System receives notification of all applicants who decline the opportunity to register.

What else should I know?

LIABILITY SIGNER

If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent or legal guardian with you at the county driver’s license office to sign consent for you to be licensed. The signer assumes legal responsibility for your actions as a driver. If the liability signer is not the mother or father listed on your birth certificate, you must provide acceptable legal documents (adoption records or court guardianship documents). The identity of the liability signer will be verified. If the signer’s name is different from the one appearing on your birth certificate, additional documents such as a marriage license or divorce decree may be required to verify relationship. If the liability signer cannot be present to sign the application at the county office, an acceptable power of attorney may be used. The power of attorney procedure requires additional time for mailing and processing documents.

If you are married, your spouse, who must be at least 18 years of age, may sign for you. Your spouse’s age must be verified from an acceptable photo document, such as a driver’s license. As long as you are under 18, the person who signs for you may withdraw consent at any time. Withdrawal of consent will cause the department to cancel your driver’s license until you reach age 18 or have another acceptable liability signer.


SCHOOL ENROLLMENT OR COMPLETION

If you are under 18 years of age you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program before an instruction permit, driver-training permit or driver’s license can be issued. This proof can be in the form of a verification of compliance (VOC) letter from an acceptable school or program you are attending, a high school diploma, or a general education certificate of completion. The VOC must be presented within 90 days of authorization by the school or as otherwise stated on the document. Students enrolled in a home-education program must have been enrolled in the program for at least one school year prior to the verification of attendance request unless documentation can be provided of meeting the attendance requirement for the school year immediately prior to the year in which you are enrolled in the home education program. When your parents sign the liability statement, they must also sign a statement that you are in compliance with the school attendance provisions of Idaho Code.

Foreign Drivers

What are the requirements for foreign students and youth?

REQUIREMENTS

  • Passport with U.S. VISA and I-94
  • J1 status needs DHS form DS-2019 F1 status needs DHS form I-20
  • Letter from the Social Security Administration stating you are not eligible for a Social Security number or have never been assigned a number

DRIVER’S TRAINING for student’s under 18 years old

Complete foreign exchange packet with the following:

  • Verification of Compliance (VOC) on school letterhead – if under 18 yrs. old (VOC is issued by your school attendance office)
  • Permission from foreign exchange program to take the driver’s training course
  • Statement from parent(s) stating son/daughter can take a driver’s training course and be issued a driver’s license
  • The name of the host parent listed in the foreign exchange packet
  • A host parent must sign as liability signer if applicant is under 18.

*** If a foreign student is not in a foreign exchange program, an affidavit is needed from the natural parents stating that their child has permission to take driver’s training and/or obtain a driver’s license in the United States. The affidavit needs to be notarized, or the equivalent of being notarized. This affidavit takes the place of the foreign exchange program documents. The host parent must sign for liability.

 

Click Here for a checklist of required documents for Foreign Students

What if I'm an undocumented immigrant?

Individuals who are not lawfully present in the United States are not eligible for an Idaho driver’s license or identification card. Proof of lawful presence may be required if you have not previously provided proof of U.S. citizenship. Acceptable lawful presence documents include:

  • Certified original U.S. Birth Certificate
  • Certification of Birth Abroad
  • Original Certificate of Naturalization/Citizenship
  • Permanent Resident card or Resident Alien card
  • Employment Authorization card
  • Valid Foreign passport with valid U.S. VISA and I-94 (Arrival/Departure record)

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to renew a driver’s license?

4-Year License

$35.00

8-Year License

$60.00

CDL License

$40.00

18-year-old License

$30.00

Duplicate License

$20.00

Motorcycle Permit

$20.00

What hours are you open?

Monday thru Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (We stop testing at 4 p.m.)
Appointments are required. To make an appointment, call 208-236-7258.

How much does the test cost?

First time testing is: $9.50 for the written (Class D)
$17.50 for the road test (Class D)

My license is suspended, what do I do to reinstate?


When your suspension or revocation time ends, you may reinstate your driving privileges by applying to the Idaho Transportation Department. You may need to pay a reinstatement fee, which depending on the reason for the suspension, will range from $15.00 to $285.00 (or more if there are multiple suspensions).

Once any required suspension time has elapses, and the reinstatement fee has been paid, additional actions may need to be taken to reinstate your driving privileges, i.e.:

  • Provide proof and maintain proof of liability insurance coverage. The required method of providing this proof is an SR22 form sent to the department from your insurance carrier.

Click Here to reinstate your suspended license online.

Call the Idaho Deptarment of Transportation’s Driver Services line at 208-334-8736 to reinstate your suspended license.

Who cannot be issued an Idaho driver’s license?

An Idaho driver’s license cannot be issued to anyone who:

  • Is not a resident of the state of Idaho
  • Is not lawfully present in the United States
  • Is under the age of 15
  • Is under the age of 17 and has not completed the requirements of Idaho’s graduated driver’s license program
  • Is under the age of 18 and is not enrolled in school or has not completed school as required in Section 49-303A, Idaho Code
  • Has a suspended, revoked, or canceled status in Idaho or any other jurisdiction
  • Has been adjudged as an habitual drunkard or addicted to the use of narcotics
  • Has been adjudged as suffering from mental incompetence that would affect a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle and who at the time of application has not been restored to competency
  • May be afflicted with any physical or mental condition which brings about momentary or prolonged lapses of consciousness or control
  • Is required to take an examination and has not passed the examination
What if I want to use a different name than the one on my current identification forms?

You will need to provide one or more of the following certified documents, dated after the current record, as acceptable proof of a legal name change:

  • Certified marriage certificate(s) meeting Idaho standards
  • Certified divorce document(s)
  • Adoption record
  • Court name-change documents(s)
How do I register to be an organ donor?

If you are 18 years of age or older, you may request to have the “DONOR” designation appear on your license or ID card. If you are 16 or 17 years old, you may be a donor but must have parental permission to be on the donor registry. The designation identifies your wish to donate your organs and/or tissues upon your death to those waiting for transplants. If you want to make limitations, change, or update your donor status, you may do so at www.yesidaho.org or call 1-866-YES-IDAHO.

Helpful Information and Links

Location

Bannock County Driver’s License Division

5800 S. 5th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho 83204
208-236-7258
Map it

Idaho Transportation Department

Your complete source for all driving, travel, business information and more for the State of Idaho.

Bannock County Courthouse

624 East Center
Pocatello, Idaho 83201

Live Here. Play Here. Thrive Here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email